Public holidays

Below is a list of annual Danish public holidays

2015

New Year’s Day: 1 January
Maundy/Holy Thursday: 2 April
Good Friday: 3 April
Easter Sunday: 6 April
Easter Monday: 7 April
Great Prayer Day: 1 May
Ascension Day: 14 May
Pentecost/Whit Sunday: 24 May
Pentecost/ Whit Monday: 25 May
Christmas Day: 25 December
Boxing Day: 26 December

2016

New Year’s Day: 1 January
Maundy/Holy Thursday: 24 March
Good Friday: 25 March
Easter Sunday: 27 March
Easter Monday: 28 March
Great Prayer Day: 22 April
Ascension Day: 5 May
Pentecost/Whit Sunday: 15 May
Pentecost/ Whit Monday: 16 May
Christmas Day: 25 December
Boxing Day: 26 December

On top of these public holidays, many banks and shops close on Danish Constitution Day (5 June), Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve.

Denmark is made for cycling holidays

Take a cycling holiday in Denmark

With more than 12,000km of signposted cycle routes, gentle terrain, and short distances between amenities, Denmark is a country made for cyclists and cycling trips.